PDA

View Full Version : New FM Yagi?

JVL DXer
06-05-2016, 10:20 AM
I think I'm really going to need a Yagi soon, I've gotten 250 logs (https://docs.google.com/spreadsheets/d/1Hj_qIvAZBQx-MTGqRs-Nko2tQzS-9o3_pEoTULyuudY) without one but, there's going to be a new translator on my 92.7 (250W at 250ft AGL) fcc shows it on top of WCLO tower and I know that WJVL has a 2 bay back-up up there. Anyway, I really wanted to get an FM-6 but I just cannot find any for sale online.

I did find this (http://www.mcmelectronics.com/product/30-2460?scode=GS401&utm_medium=cse&utm_source=google&utm_campaign=google&catargetid=530004080000291203&cadevice=t&gclid=CPy9iLf5kM0CFQmSaQodFJ8OsA) , it's also on Sears website. Does anyone know how this thing performs? Or is there another Yagi that I Should get?

H Hayes PA
06-05-2016, 11:58 AM
I have no direct experience with this antenna but if it were me I'd give it a shot at that price. It's small and could work indoors too, if need be. FM-6's are very hard to find nowadays, unfortunately. You can always upgrade if you find something larger.

JVL DXer
06-05-2016, 01:17 PM
I'm probably going to buy it but, I've have no idea what else I'll need with it.

egrabow
06-05-2016, 02:54 PM
It's certainly affordable. Please let us know if it's any good. I think RadioShack still sells masts and whatever other hardware you need.

Gary Hickerson
06-05-2016, 03:01 PM
JVL
You might want to get a "small" preamp, about 10 db. Just enough to give it a boost but keep down overload !

Gary H.

John Wilke K9RZZ
06-05-2016, 07:07 PM