PDA

View Full Version : What kind of DX is this?

SlcDX
05-24-2009, 03:24 AM
Hi guys. I'll start off by admitting that I'm a newbie to FM and TV Dxing, and only got serious about it in the past few months or so.

In the past two years, I have received Es on several occasions, but never tropo being that I am in the western U.S. (or so I have thought).

I do however from time to time, get signals from not as far away that come in when they normally wouldn't. This is about FM by the way.

For example, today while heading home to my parents house in Green River, Wyoming, I received a station from Rock Springs, Wyoming KYCS. The odd part is that I was 114 miles from the transmitter, near the town of Coalville, Utah. That and Coalville is in a mountain valley area, with a range in the way.

Normally KYCS doesn't even make it to Evanston, Wyoming, but here it was coming in with a clear ID and their Retro Saturday Night program coming in loud and clear. It was battling a currently unidentified AC station I have yet to figure out.

The question is, at this short of distance, what kind of DX is this? Is it troposcatter, tropo, a short Es? I'm so confused! :confused:

Another example was from yesterday, a station fromDelta Utah (KMGR), 70 miles from Salt Lake City, being received loud and clear.

Obviously there is no way LOS would work here right??? Help!!!

Russ-PA
05-24-2009, 10:09 AM
First off, welcome aboard and to the hobby!

The distances you're talking about can't be E skip. They could be tropo or troposcatter, although it's hard to tell, especially as I've never DX'ed from anywhere W of the Mississippi.

NN2E
05-24-2009, 02:04 PM
Without studying the topography of the area it would be just a wild guess but, it might be what I'd call "knife edge refraction." Electromagnetic waves can be "bent" downward as they pass over mountain ridges. This may explain, at least in part, why you were able to hear a distant station while you were down in a mountain valley.
73, Ed NN2E