PDA

View Full Version : Meteor Scatter question

cd637299
10-28-2010, 12:45 PM
Hi

I will admit, I am not that good at bagging any FM via meteor scatter, but, Total Recorder has been a boon to trying for it, due to viewing "spikes" in sound.

So, here is my question:

As I live in southeast Florida, would I be wasting my time if I pointed the antenna in any southerly direction (trying for Latin America)? Should I point it to the northwest most of the time? Does it really matter *where* I point the thing? :)

Are there less catches to be made toward the equator? Are there places in the US that "attract" more stations via MS?

cd

pjdyer
10-29-2010, 04:08 AM
If this is of any use http://home.swbell.net/pjdyer/fmms2009.htm
Close-in (high angle of arrival) stations negate directive effects of an antenna, plus a lot of ms is non-great circle path. The optimal times/directions vary with the shower (and used to be listed in the ARRL VHF Handbooks - but probably can be found online now).

73, Pat - WA5IYX

cd637299
10-29-2010, 10:31 AM
Hmmm.....a lot in MO!

No Mexicans at all? That speaks volumes, as far as MS.

cd

Danny
10-29-2010, 12:09 PM
Christopher, I know your question is about FM. Nevertheless, of my 19 TV MS IDs, four are from Mexico. Some of these stations have been IDed multiple times via MS. XEPM-2 was IDed via MS after it became "tucanal" and XEFE-2 was IDed by ID color bars (a few times over the years, but not lately). Here is my list:

KWGN-2 Denver CO
WSB-2 Atlanta GA
XEPM-2 Cd Juarez CHIH
WTTV-4 Bloomington IN
WTWO-2 Terre Haute IN
KGAN-2 Cedar Rapids IA
WMAR-2 Baltimore MD
WJBK-2 Detroit MI
KQTV-2 St Joseph MO
KTVI-2 St Louis MO
XEFB-2 Monterrey NL
WEWS-5 Cleveland OH
WDTN-2 Dayton OH
WCBS-2 New York NY
XEFE-2 Nuevo Leon TAM
XHHUPN-2 Reynosa TAM
WKRN-2 Nashville TN
KMID-2 Midland TX
WBAY-2 Green Bay WI

Russ-PA
10-29-2010, 01:08 PM