Page 3 of 8 FirstFirst 12345 ... LastLast
Results 21 to 30 of 71

Thread: Automated DTV scanning and logging web page

  1. #21
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Alexandria, VA, US
    Posts
    123

    Default

    Sorry, all, about the long-running outage (since Thursday afternoon). Russ is out of town and, in any case, the current plan is to repair the original server which would mean moving everything onto the new one just long enough to move it all back to the old one again. I still don't have an ETA, but I'm posting updates as I have them here:

    http://www.satelliteguys.us/xen/thre...s-down.360710/

    - Trip
    Come visit RabbitEars for all your digital TV subchannel informational needs.

    Comments are my own and not that of the FCC (my employer) or anyone else.

  2. #22
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Indianapolis, IN
    Posts
    356

    Default

    Trip, I appreciate the site and the work you've done over the years to keep it updated. Thanks. Steve

  3. #23
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Franklin, TN
    Posts
    193

    Default

    I echo Steve's comments - thanks for the update and for keeping the site going.

    Tommy

  4. #24
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Lebanon, IN
    Posts
    102

    Default

    Sorry to see all the hassle you have to go through, Trip.

    I did make a version of the scanning program that will run on Windows and let DXers run their scanners. It is not graphical, but will give a list of received stations and distance to transmitters. It will also send data to Rabbitears when it is back up.

    Mike
    Mike Glass N9BNN
    Lebanon, IN
    EM69

  5. #25
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Indianapolis, IN
    Posts
    356

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by mikegmach1 View Post
    Sorry to see all the hassle you have to go through, Trip.

    I did make a version of the scanning program that will run on Windows and let DXers run their scanners. It is not graphical, but will give a list of received stations and distance to transmitters. It will also send data to Rabbitears when it is back up.

    Mike
    Thanks, Mike. You really are the inventive engineer with computers and computer programming. It seems to be working very well at the Milford, IL remote DX site. Here's a screenshot I took a few minutes ago of what I'm seeing working the setup from home in Indy. The black screen is the new scanning program that Mike developed. It's very similar to the info we get back from Rabbitears. Great job, Mike.

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	screenshot of IL autoscanner may 25 2016.png 
Views:	100 
Size:	106.0 KB 
ID:	18767

  6. #26
    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Location
    Akron Ohio
    Posts
    638

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by indysteve View Post
    Thanks, Mike. You really are the inventive engineer with computers and computer programming. It seems to be working very well at the Milford, IL remote DX site. Here's a screenshot I took a few minutes ago of what I'm seeing working the setup from home in Indy. The black screen is the new scanning program that Mike developed. It's very similar to the info we get back from Rabbitears. Great job, Mike.
    Yes, than you Mike for hooking me up with this software. Here is what my screenshot looks like...
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Scan.jpg 
Views:	98 
Size:	296.9 KB 
ID:	18769
    Andrew

    My TV and FM DX Photos from Akron, Ohio...
    https://www.flickr.com/photos/133179000@N04/albums

  7. #27
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Lebanon, IN
    Posts
    102

    Default

    Thanks, guys, for the kudos. I am planning an update already. The current program uses a database file that is with the package, but it is out of date. The next version will have live data fetching from the FCC, which is how it was originally. I liked having a local database since I didn't want to rely on Internet access to the FCC. But, up to date info is best!
    Mike Glass N9BNN
    Lebanon, IN
    EM69

  8. #28
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Dallas,GA
    Posts
    23

    Default

    I would love to get a copy of that. Been missing sending my data to rabbit ears. Can you send me a copy ?

  9. #29
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Lebanon, IN
    Posts
    102

    Default

    Probably tomorrow. I can't email because if contains an executable file. I have been using TeamViewer to deliver a compressed file to a computer. Let me know what you can do.

    Mike
    Mike Glass N9BNN
    Lebanon, IN
    EM69

  10. #30
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Alexandria, VA, US
    Posts
    123

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by mikegmach1 View Post
    Probably tomorrow. I can't email because if contains an executable file. I have been using TeamViewer to deliver a compressed file to a computer. Let me know what you can do.

    Mike
    If you want, I can upload it to my server. It's the least I can do.

    To give a quick update, Russ and the guy dealing with the server have been missing each other, so I still don't know when it will be back, but I assume once they make contact and Russ lets him know what is needed, it. It's not the only thing that's still not working, but certainly the most important at this point.

    - Trip
    Come visit RabbitEars for all your digital TV subchannel informational needs.

    Comments are my own and not that of the FCC (my employer) or anyone else.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •