X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Double Hop ES - CA to FL [26 MAY 2021]

Hello all!

This is my first post on WTFDA, so allow me to introduce myself briefly.

My name is Mat, otherwise known as N6AVI, or my online alias, "SkyWaveBirdDX" I reside here in Southern California, in a little town called Palmdale.

I have been doing FM DX for the last three years, and it's been an exciting hobby to get into.

I'd like to inform this forum of a multi-hop Sporadic-E catch I have got recently.

On May 26, 2021, at 4:54 PM local [2354 UTC] during a really strong and bizarre opening on FM during May, I happened to catch WBVM from Tampa, Florida.

Distance has been found to be 2,153 mi, or 3,465 kilometers.

Confirmation: RDS with valid PI code on SDR which was used during the event.

WBVM.PNG

I'm still amazed to get such a rare catch into what I consider still being relatively "early" in the DX hobby as compared to those who have been doing this for much longer than I have.

So I just thought I'd take a moment to share with you all something really far out. Have a nice day!

Mat, Thanks for posting that reception report onto the board. It looks like you were at the right place at the right time. The RDS is just about perfect for 2xEs. I have three questions. How long were you able to listen to the station before it dropped out? Do you have any audio recordings? What is your antenna configuration?

Comment

Originally posted by GACTVDX View Post
      Mat, Thanks for posting that reception report onto the board. It looks like you were at the right place at the right time. The RDS is just about perfect for 2xEs. I have three questions. How long were you able to listen to the station before it dropped out? Do you have any audio recordings? What is your antenna configuration?