Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• the Sony XDR-F1HD tuner

This is a popular new tuner equiped with HD that is rating high with other DXers. I recently added one to the shack and have to say I'm very impressed with the selectivity right out of the box compared to a Denon TU1500RD with 110/150kHz IF filters that I've been using for 3 years now. Although, the sensitivity on the Sony is not as good as the Denon and there is another problem.

The audio level varies with signal strength. I find this undesirable for recording and requires constant adjustment of the volume of the speakers during attended DXing.

Here's a couple examples.

Selectivity test.
    Parked on 96.7 which is adjacent to 100kw WZNS 3 miles away, a virtually unusable frequency. The first half is the Denon TU1500RD with narrow filter. Splatter is strong. The second half of the audio is with the Sony XDR-F1HD. Very little splatter at all.

The second audio is a sporadic E signal from 91.7 XHXL Monterrey, Mexico received on the Sony. Notice the fades where the audio almost disapears.

The third audio is the same signal switched over to the Denon.
    Last edited by KW4RZ; 06-29-2008, 09:53 PM.
    Randy KW4RZ Goldfield, Nevada DM17

Here's another test using 93.9 WMTM Moultrie, GA. A 100kw station 177 miles to my east/ northeast.
    Both tuners on the same antenna, recorded at the exact same time. Started with the antenna southeast and moved it northeast to bring WMTM's signal up.

Comment

the Sony XDR-F1HD tuner

Randy,

I must agree with your findings. The Sony is what turned me from a casual Es listener on my car stereo to an at home unattended logger using software.

I purchased the tabletop XDR-S3HD at Best Buy open box return for $49.95 two weeks ago. I followed it up with the XDR-F1HD just last week ($99.00).