New FM Dx'er

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• New FM Dx'er

I'm new to all this. Located in Wallingford, CT. Need to find an antenna for FM, any ideas? Would like to mount it to my chimney with a rotor, so it can't be too big. Trying to get FM stations from NYC about 80 miles away. Interested in listening to quality FM music primarily.

Hi and welcome to our li'l corner of the world.

There *used to be* the Antennacraft FM6 (I still use it at home), but an affordable outdoor *directional* FM antenna is quite the hunt now.

Personally I would try to get a combo TV/FM antenna that covers all channels AND FM....but that would cost quite a bit more. If FM is all you want, this is quite affordable, and I actually take it on trips:

https://www.ebay.com/itm/NEW-Terrest...QAAOSwiYFXHode

In action! (This isn't common at all, but gives you an idea)

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CLCJmJlD1SM

cd

Comment

Originally posted by Edosan View Post
      I'm new to all this. Located in Wallingford, CT. Need to find an antenna for FM, any ideas? Would like to mount it to my chimney with a rotor, so it can't be too big. Trying to get FM stations from NYC about 80 miles away. Interested in listening to quality FM music primarily.
      Hi! I am north of Hartford about 10 miles NE of BDL. Almost all NYC freqs are blocked by either IBOC or translators/LPFMs. Down in Wallingford the situation is about the same. 92.3, 92.7, 95.5, 95.9, 96.3, 96.7 are blocked by IBOC, as well are 100.3, 100.7, 101.1, 101.5, 101.9, 102.3, 102.7, 103.1, 104.3. You might have a shot for Spanish on 93.1 (assuming WHYN doesn't interfere), country on 94.7 (assuming WMAS doesn't), Spanish on 97.9 as long as ESPN in Hartford doesn't interfere. Also 105.1 R&B should make it as well as 106.7 Lite FM. 107.5 in now blocked by the LPFM in New Haven (Spanish). As far as "quality music" in NYC, as you describe it, I wouldn't call any radio fomat in NYC "quality" anymore.